top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturegiddilygeekin

Zooms & Booms

Had another busy week and am pretty excited about the progress. Got hung up on getting the direction arrow to work nicely but I think its coming together. I am hoping to have some family playtest a race to test it out!


From last week:


Two Player Race Play Through This was a very vague goal. I realize that but there is so much that had to be done that listing was awkward. But to get this working I also added an arrow that indicated direction to next checkpoint in case players get turned around. This took a TON of time figuring out how to update the UI properly.


Get lap logic working I got a race count down for the race mode and laps figured out. The Finish line logic is still pretty poor because transitioning to autopilot is pretty shaky.


Logic to declare a winner As stated above I don’t have a declared winner right now.


(Stretch Goal) Boosts I added a new state to the plane for boosting. This required a little bit of code refactoring to make transitions from state to state cleaner but am happy with the results. I still need to add a nice particle effect.




In addition to this state I added a “hit” state. This can be seen when the rockets explode in the video. The explosion is caused by too many rockets being spawned at once. The ‘Hit’ state send the plane into a tumble for a duration and then resumes back into flight. This took allot of time to get a clean feel and the camera following the spiraling plane properly.


Goals Next Week:

1. Logic to declare winner 2. Non Player Plane Logic rework 3. Play test race 4. (Stretch Goal) determine fair rocket size and hitbox 5. (Stretch Goal) Model rocket 6. (Stretch Goal) Add UI of rocket

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page