top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturegiddilygeekin

Squashing Bugs

Hello again. This sprint had a lot of tasks that I wanted to try and address so here is the recap of the goals:

Shotgun duration is too long

This was long originally for debugging. Now you have it for 6 seconds.


Reset is too punishing

Reduced reset time from 3 seconds -> 1.5 seconds. I also added to the AI behavior trees to be able to reset as well.


3rd Place gets too many shields

I added the Hot Air Balloon, Torpedo, and Momentum Capacitor to the weapon crafting roster. While doing this I address this issue.


This also gave me a chance to fix a visual bug that had been bothering me. When an item is activated that is tied to a timer there was a visual blink where the timer and item details would not show. I fixed this and now the timer updates cleanly from 100% instead of delaying the visual after a moment.


Because of this I also needed to have the AI capable of using these items. This took a good chunk of the week but I think that the AI will not be holding on to weapons too long loosing the crafting time advantage.


BUG: Gatling crosshairs remain if hit

Fixed this bug. Hopefully I implemented a process so that other possessed items do not create lost reference bugs like this one.


Other Bug Fixes:

There where allot of goals I had from last week and it was a lot of investigation work. I need to reduce the number of bugs I am trying to fix per sprint so it isn’t too discouraging.


Thinking about goals for next sprint

When planning out the next week it is difficult to determine what will benefit the most? Should I flush out gameplay? Should I work on visuals so the game can be more appealing and get more notice? Should I work on more maps that add to gameplay and appeal? Do I focus on characters so that I can start targeting groups of people that may be interested?


The most difficult thing is that the crafting system that is unique to this game has allot of dependencies. I want to better show how rockets -> homing rockets -> Gatling gun but don’t have the models for them made yet so they would only be place holders. But is it going to be a rocket? or a cross-bow? I don't know yet until I start getting better balance in the game and then have the properties of the 'rocket' guide how this is going to look in the final game.



Because of this I think I want to continue developing my characters. They are going to take allot of time but will not suffer from design changes.


Goals For Next Sprint:

  1. Add 2 more characters to the first pass

  2. Test new weapons for balance

  3. Finish implementing AI weapon use for torpedo

  4. BUG: Tumbleweed


Stretch Goal:

  • BUG: Fix airplane to airplane collisions

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page