top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturegiddilygeekin

I want my AI to fight!

So this sprint had a pretty abrupt change to what I worked on. I had intended to get more maps made but quickly realized that that was going to take ALLOT of time and that it does not line up with the Fail Fast principle. I needed to get more game mechanics nailed down prior to designing maps cause the game play could change and I would need to scrap allot of final product stuff.


So I moved the stretch goal, ‘I want my AI to fight in race’, to my main goal. This has been super challenging because I want the controls for the NPC and player to be controlled similarly. UE4 has a behavior tree and system that is super nice to use. This unfortunately will not work for me. I need partial control over my planes when using some weapons such as the Gatling gun. So I created my own behavior tree. This has been super fun but has taken allot of time. I also had to create a perception system that updates what each plane “sees”. The UE4 systems only see in single XY plane. I needed to be able to see in the XYZ spectrum.


Accomplishments:

1. Develop Custom Behavior Tree 2. Develop simple Race Behavior 3. Develop Perception System 4. Applied for UE4 Epic Games Dev Grant 5. Clean up main menu




Bug Fixes:

a. Fixed ground sticking b. Fixed Booster particle terminate bug c. Cleaned up wall collisions (created new bounce state) d. Fixed air drag particle system


Goals for next Sprint.

1. Compelling Game play 2. More items 3. Attack avoidance 4. Improve AI

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page