top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturegiddilygeekin

Full Speed Ahead

The hardest part about determining what my goals are for the week is knowing that the time I spend in one area is time that other parts of the game are stalled. It is getting exciting because I feel like the game is at a state where people can play and understand what the vision is. At the beginning of last spring I had determined some of the main priorities. I am excited to work on them, but I have to be patient. Seeing other developers and the amazing things they are accomplishing can be a bit discouraging. I must remind myself that I have been working on this project as a solo-developer and its been less than a year. I worry that I am not catching very much attention in the world because my ‘game hooks’ are mechanics that are felt not seen very well.


Anyways, on to looking forward. I feel like it is time to start designing maps and really showing WHY racing planes can be rewarding. My main goal this week is to block out a new map and have it testable by next weekend. With the remaining time in the sprint I also want to continue working on the pilots for my game. Here are the goals written out specifically:


Goals

Block out new map

Feature: Pause in race mode

Feature: Return to map select

Test out gameplay

UV paint 4 pilots


Stretch Goals

Bug: Changing settings in game should save them in player settings

Move Camera closer to airplane


Review from last sprint:

UV Paint Penguin / Add Eyes

How does she look?


UV Paint Echidna / Add Eyes

I love how the Echidna turned out. I am worried though that I have too many pilots that are brown. I don’t know if I need to perhaps change his base color but not have him look too unbelievable


Finish 2nd design pass on pilots:

I have finished fixing the Raptor and Sloth.


Bug Fixes:

Torpedo collisions and general usage

Reset to checkpoint returns to checkpoint origin instead of where you entered the checkpoint zone

Fixed camera lag logic

Fixed bug where teleporting though finish line would not update the lap

Fixed an issue with source control


Updated booster look

I have had my wife play test the game and I finally decided that I needed to make this more visible.

Roll with a single tap

Double tapping was hard for people and I want to test this out!


Revamped Movement logic

This was a blast! The movement imitates a more realistic feel and uses physics to calculate the forces, momentum and acceleration!


Return to regular speed after boost

As part of updating the physics the airplane slows down do to air drag after the boost. The transition is very smooth and I love it!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page