top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturegiddilygeekin

Dogfighting

With the Thanksgiving holiday coming up I really wanted to beef up a few things. I ended up doing a lot of improvements that were driven by the goals. The biggest one was the in-game collisions. It was driving me crazy that airplane collisions were not engaging. If you got hit => you spun out in a barrel roll. I felt like getting hit is one of the most common things players will see outside of turning an airplane. So, I figured it was worth the time to really give collisions a more interesting feel.


Collisions with the plane now use the impact location, spinout duration, strength to determine how the plane should respond. I also wanted the airplane to do more than roll when hit. So, I found a way to detach the camera while in the hit state and reattach the camera.


It was time to get dogfighting in the game. I the past week I have been scrambling to add this game mode. I also felt like the city map was a bit overused so I made a new map for it as well! I was working on this right up until it was time to travel to the family to get a working mode going. Yes, there are bugs but I was so excited about the result! Here are some things that needed to be done to get this up and running:


  • Create a Battle Game Mode

    • Handle spawning and special crafting for this mode

    • Tracking score

    • Showing GAME OVER screen

  • Out of bounds logic

  • Layout the map

Not going to lie, racing is fun… but dogfighting was a blast! I was able to playtest the game mode with my family and they all enjoyed it! It was really rewarding to see people enjoying my game. I underestimated how satisfying it was to close in with a shotgun or snipe somebody with a rocket.



Previous Sprint Goal Results

Reflective Shield

Got this working. Projectiles, such as Rockets, will be sent in the current direction of the attacker. Homing Missiles will lock on to the attacker.


Split-screen bug

Really dumb bug with an easy fix.


Damage boost

The logic is implemented, need to test it out more.

BUG: camera transition to the landed state from hit state.

I didn’t have time to fix this bug


Work on Gatling Gun

Changed the Gatling to shoot projectiles. Need to add sound and test to get it satisfying again


Create new item

I decided to add dogfighting instead of creating a new item.

Stretch Goals


Work on next map visuals

Made a new map for dogfighting.


BUG: collisions causing lags

I need to fix this still


Airplane collisions

I got this done!


See next checkpoint

Been thinking about it. But haven’t come up with a good solution for local split-screen


Goals For Next Sprint

1. BUG: RaceAI & Hit state

2. Fix AI to work in battle mode

3. Allow Airbrakes on boost

4. BUG: Battle Mode: Menu buttons unresponsive

5. Battle Mode: Start with good shields over basic

6. BUG: Hit to Land State camera

Stretch

1. Game demo link should go to wixsite instead of FB

2. Create Weapon

3. See only next checkpoint

4. Add a countdown

5. Add Some more airplane colors


Feedback

If you have some airplane paint colors you would love to see, make a comment to this post and enter the HTML color code for it! Would anyone like to have the ability to paint/design their own planes?

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page